How Much Does Workers’ Compensation Pay in North Carolina for My Time Out of Work?
When you are out of work because of a North Carolina work injury, there are two important questions:
- How do I get the medical treatment I need to get better, and
- How will I get the money I need for my family?
Both questions need to have answers that make sense and are on time so that you can sleep at night. You’ll find the answers to your questions about medical treatment in our blog. The second one is crucial – you want to know when the checks are coming and how much they will be.
The law is clear: you should be paid two-thirds (2/3) of your average wages over the last year. But just because the insurance company knows the law, it doesn’t mean that the check you receive is going to be for the correct amount. Below are some frequently asked questions about the North Carolina workers’ compensation rate.
What if I work some overtime? Do they have to include it when they figure out my workers’ compensation rate?
- YES. Overtime counts toward your average wages.
- This is sometimes left out in the average, but it should not be.
I didn’t work a full year before I got injured. How do they figure out what to pay me?
Divide the amount of wages you made by the weeks you worked to see the average; then multiply by 2/3 to figure out the compensation rate.
I made $600 a week after taxes and insurance was taken out. I am being paid by workers’ compensation $400 because the adjuster told me that was correct. Is that right?
NO. The total wages before any deductions must be used to come up with the average. You are being underpaid!
I am a trucker and I get a per diem to cover my lodging. So do I get to count that towards my workers’ compensation rate or not?
YES. The amount you receive to cover food, lodging, and other expenses is counted toward the average wages.
I was out of work for four months last year because I had unrelated surgery. Won’t that make my workers’ comp rate go down?
NO. If you miss 8 days or more at one time or multiple times then you get to take those weeks out of the calculation.
I made about $2000 a week in the year before the injury. Now I am getting a check from workers’ comp for $944 a week! Why am I not getting 2/3 of my wages?
There is a maximum that the insurance company has to pay that changes from year to year. The maximum for 2017 was $944.
I am able to work light duty now but I don’t get overtime. Can I get paid by workers’ comp for the money I am missing?
YES. You are able to get 2/3 of the difference between what your average wage was before the injury and your average wage after the injury.
If you have questions about workers’ compensation and the amount you should be paid, call the North Carolina workers’ compensation specialists at Copeley Johnson & Groninger PLLC. Valerie Johnson is here to help. Call us at 919-240-4054 and download Valerie’s helpful worker’s compensation guide.